Forget About It!


I remember years ago when I was a boy of 9-10 years old that my mother’s brother gave me a bike, an English Racer. He had brought his son a new one and given me the old one.  Man was I elated. The bike came with a warning and a promise, my uncle told me that the bike was not made for the rough and tumble, it’s frame was thin and the tires thin.  He told me to never ride another person on the bike, that it was not made for two people. That was the warning.  The promise was that If I disobeyed him and ruined that bike he would never give me another bike as long as I lived.  My uncle was not a mean man but he was a firm man.  I really could stop here because you -the reader- already know the rest of the story but for the sake of closure I will continue.

Not long after I had that bike (about two days maybe) one of the neighborhood kids,  someone all the other kids in the neighborhood looked up to, asked me to ride him on my bike.  I refused, telling him what my uncle had said.  “Awhh, come on ain’t nothing gonna happen to that bike, it can handle us,”  and up on the handle bars he hopped.  And with the push of a little peer pressure,  down North  Street hill we went.  I never saw the bump or the uneven pavement. I never saw the concrete slab that greeted my head so rudely and left that huge hickey along with skinned shoulder, knees and bruised ribs.  what I did see was a broken frame and the front wheel of my bike bent in the shape of the letter “V” ( and it Dang sure was not representing victory).

Someone once said ” Sometimes you never really know the true value of a moment until it becomes a memory.”

The memory of that day’s events are still so vivid in my mind, it is part of my life experience. That experience is like one tree in a forest of many.  I am no longer hurt by it nor does it have a negative impact on me now. I’ve gotten the lesson to be learned from it and if needed I can help someone else because of it.

So what is my take away teachable moment from the broke bike saga?

Understand the negatives, embrace the positives and move on,  as they would say in New York…”forget about it.”

Have A Great Day!

Image (123rf stock photo)

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Forget About It!

  1. I like this. Sometimes we have to actually go through some things to make the lesson stick. Thanks for sharing.

  2. georgette says:

    Hello Bro. Moe
    For me it’s a different scenario, but same lesson learned. Like you, “the experience is like one tree in a forest of many. “

  3. I too had an English racing bike when I was young. I ran over some railroad tracks once and the frame folded under me leaving me a little bruised in more ways than one.

  4. shawanna says:

    That was a lesson learned. I like it. I have many life experiences like this myself.

  5. ACF says:

    I know this lesson all too well, but thanks for reminding me Morris!

  6. oldereyes says:

    I, too, have a bicycle lesson. When I was in third grade, I got a brand new, red Columbia bike. We weren’t wealthy and getting a new bike was a big deal. One day, I rode my bike to the center of town to see a movie. It was common for kids to park their bikes in front of the police station … without locks … under the assumption that no one would steal a bike from there. Wrong. ine, the newest was gone when we returned. That was probably my first lesson in “Trust God but tie your camel to a tree.” Or chain your bike to a post.

Leave a Reply

