Honey, I shrunk the Kitchen!


This is a reprint from a fellow blogger, in it’s entirety.  To read more of Janet Pfeiffer see below.

As a child, I remember visiting my Aunt Mary’s house in New Milford, N.J. Her sprawling ranch style home was nestled on park-like property. My last recollection of being there was around the age of 12. More than 20 years would pass before I’d return.

An invitation from my cousin brought me back to 67 Lacey Dr. We entered through the back door and directly into the kitchen. As I stood in the breakfast nook (I know – I’m dating myself) I blurted out, “Oh my gosh – your kitchen shrunk!” We burst out laughing at how ridiculous I sounded. Of course, her kitchen hadn’t shrunk. I’d gotten bigger and was now seeing it from a more accurate perspective.

Our recollections of things past are sometimes distorted. Yet those beliefs impact our lives as adults, shaping who we become and directing the path we take.

Gary Zukav, acclaimed author of “Seat of the Soul”, says that the most important thing we have are our beliefs. They are the foundation upon which we build our lives. If our beliefs are accurate and valid, our foundation will be sound. If, however, our beliefs are flawed, our base will be weak and unsteady.

For example, if I was told as a child I am worthless and unlovable, that becomes my guiding truth. Every decision I make stems from that belief. I avoid or sabotage loving relationships, feeling unworthy. I neglect or abuse myself, feeling contemptible. I settle for less knowing I am undeserving.

Uncovering the origin of my beliefs and determining if its source was valid can help me re evaluate my position. Was it a jealous classmate telling me I was stupid and ugly that impacted my view of myself? Clearly, the source was erroneous and I can amend my opinion.

What are my beliefs about myself, others and the world in general? Do I ascribe to the notion that people are inherently evil or good? Was I taught that God punishes or that He is a loving and compassionate Being? What about disease? Do I believe there are some for which there is no cure? If I was raised to believe I am privileged, have I developed an attitude of arrogance and entitlement causing difficulty in my interpersonal relationships? Each belief, whether valid or not, directs the course of my life: how I feel, my attitude, the choices I make.

Here are some common beliefs that may need revisiting:  As you age, you slow down/gain weight/can’t do what you used to/develop medical problems ~ certain people deserver more respect than others ~ I shouldn’t have to put up with this ~ Nothing ever works out for me ~ I can’t _____. And the list goes on.

Periodically, it’s important to revisit your “Aunt Mary house” for any erroneous beliefs. Perhaps, the start of this New Year is the ideal time to make sure your foundation is solid.

Remember: A house built on a faulty foundation will crumble. A life built on untruths will fail.

*******
Read More @
http://www.PfeifferPowerSeminars.com/pps1-newsletter.html#weedin

Have A Great Day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in belief, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey, I shrunk the Kitchen!

  1. Beading by Design says:

    Dr Wayne Dyer is right! We need to get real one day at a time. So often we set ourselves up for failure by making promises for days and years in advance with no flexibility or room for adjustment. If we are unable to successfully follow through with promises we made a year ago we then feel like failures. How do I want to conduct my life today?

Leave a Reply

