A letter to God


There was a man who worked for the Post Office whose job was to

process all the mail that had illegible addresses.

One day, a letter came addressed in a shaky handwriting to God

with no actual address.  He thought he should open it to see what

it was about.  The letter read:

I am an 83-year-old widow, living on a very small pension.

Yesterday someone stole my purse. It had $100 in it, which

was all the money I had until my next pension payment.

Saturday is Christmas, and I had invited two of my friends

over for dinner.  Without that money, I have nothing to buy

food with, have no family to turn to, and you are my only

hope.  Can you please help me?

Sincerely, Edna

The postal worker was touched. He showed the letter to all

the other workers.  Each one dug into his or her wallet and

came up with a few dollars.

By the time he made the rounds, he had collected $96, which

they put into an envelope and sent to the woman.

The rest of the day, all the workers felt a warm glow

thinking of Edna and the dinner she would be able to share

with her friends.

Christmas came and went.

A few days later, another letter came from the same old lady

to God.  All the workers gathered around while the letter was

opened.

It read:

Dear God,

How can I ever thank you enough for what you did for me?

Because of your gift of love, I was able to fix a glorious

dinner for my friends.  We had a very nice day and I told

my friends of your wonderful gift.

By the way, there was $4 missing.  I think it might have been

those bastards at the post office.

The above is reposted from an e-mail I received

Have a great day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A letter to God

  1. Touching, yet humorous. You never know whose able to lend a helping hand.

  2. Lisa Floyd says:

    Funny! But that may be the last time postal workers try to help someone.

Leave a Reply

