When Grandma goes to court


Lawyers should never ask a Mississippi grandma a question if they aren’t prepared for the answer.  In a trial, a southern small town prosecuting attorney called his first witness, a grandmotherly, elderly woman to the stand.  He approached her and asked, Mrs, Jones, “do you know me?”  She responded, “why yes, I do know you, Mr Williams.  I’ve known you since you were a boy, and frankly, you’ve been a big disappointment to me.  You lie, you cheat on your wife, and you manipulate people and talk about them behind their backs.  You think you’re a big shot when you haven’t the brains to realize you’ll never amount to anything more than a two-bit paper pusher.  Yes I know you.

The lawyer was stunned.  Not knowing what else to do, he pointed across the room and asked, “Mrs. Jones, do you know the defense attorney?”

She again replied, “why yes, I do.  I’ve know Mr Bradley since he was a youngster, too.  He’s lazy, bigoted and he has a drinking problem.  He can’t build a normal relationship with anyone and his law practice is one of the worst in the entire state.  Moreover, he has cheated on his wife with three different women and one of them was your wife! Yes I know him”

The defense attorney nearly died.

The Judge asked both counselors to approached the bench and in a very quiet voice he said, “If either one of you idiots asks her if she knows me,  I’ll send you both to the electric chair!”

I’ve had this bit of humor in my files for a couple years now and I thought I’d pull it out today and share it with you.  A little levity is good for the soul.   See you at my next post, and as always…

Have A Great Day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to When Grandma goes to court

  1. Cheryl "Wray says:

    Funny and such a classic. Sounds so much like something my Momma Pearl would have said, but it would have been laced with a few choice four letter words. She was an angel.

  2. spiritteacher says:

    Thank you, Dear Friend. I love your grandma joke. It teaches that before we can judge, condemn or even defend others, we need to heal our own life first. Grandma let the light in. Now we can look at what’s blocking our peace and make some different choices. Peace, Sharie

  3. jill clark says:

    HaHa very cute. it just lets you know, be careful of the things you ask!!!!!!!!

  4. Shiela Hill says:

    Enjoyed the joke. She reminded me of an Aunt that raised me. Very outspoken woman. Thank you for the laughter – it is good for the soul… Sis. Hill

  5. corymbia says:

    Hehe – thanks for the laugh!

  6. This is such a great way to start my morning, a little exercise, time spent in God’s word and prayer, a hearty laugh and a healthy breakfast — now I’m ready to face my day.
    Thanks friend

  7. IntrigueMe says:

    That’s hysterical- thanks for sharing!!

  8. godcrazzzy says:

    i know this 1 and it still hits the giggle bones after all this time. nice man

  9. Margaret James says:

    LOL! This is hilarious! I love it. Thanks for sharing it with me 🙂

  10. Coming by to return the visit you made to my blog! This story above is hilarious! I actually just recently served jury duty in my small town and I could see this happening, lol! I wrote about that experience on my blog as well. A good bit of my writing lately is about stress reduction and anxiety and depression. I am finding that LAUGHTER is also a great help in reducing these!

  11. melanie says:

    HILARIOUS!! This is very refreshing…don’t ask a question if your not ready for the answer. Love/Mucher =).

  12. Deborah says:

    Now that was very funny!

Leave a Reply

