Mind your own Business!


What you think of me is really none of my business, so the saying goes. However, what I think of myself is my business.  Usually, anger comes on the heels of words uttered by someone else relating to your worth, status or ability as they perceive it.  The operative phrase here is “as they perceive it” (their opinion of you).

Get it? It really doesn’t matter what the naysayer thinks of you.  The only value in their opinion is the value you give it.  If you get angry and and blow up, your response indicates the level of value you’ve  placed on the words spoken about you.  Could it be that somewhere inside, you have embraced the same sentiment, yet hearing it stated touches a sore spot that angers you?

Here’s something to think about.  Recently, author Stephen King attacked author James Patterson saying he has no respect for Patterson’s work (something to the effect that it’s all the same and predictable).  Here’s the rub — Patterson (Along Came A Spider, Kiss The Girls, etc.) sold 16 million books in North America alone.  1 in every 15 hard cover books sold are authored by him.  He’s sold 170 million books worldwide.  At last count  he has 53 titles to his name.  (Source: James Patterson official web site).

Note Patterson’s response to King’s attack:  “Recently Stephen King commented that he doesn’t have any respect for me.  Doesn’t make too much sense-I’m a good dad, a nice husband-and my only crime is I’ve  sold millions of books.”

Do you detect any anger in his response? I sure don’t.  Why get angry? We’ve all seen celebrities and other notables flip the script so to speak in response to what some other notable has said.  The question still remains, why get angry?  See it for what it really is.

Stephen King demonstrates for us that the idiom still holds  true:  “Opinions are like an anus, Everybody’s got one.”  In the end It’s not what you think or say about me that matters.  It’s what I think and say about my self that really counts.

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in Anger, Consequences, life, Perseverance, willingness to change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mind your own Business!

  1. tomlstuart says:

    Another great quotable post. I really enjoy how you write and the great content. Keep them coming!

  2. corymbia says:

    Amen!

  3. Samuel Hampton says:

    I really needed this two years ago! Thanks!

  4. davehambo says:

    Well said! I lost track of you as well, we are reunited (email followup programme had a dicky fit!)

  5. godcrazzzy says:

    ha ha. noice noice. never head that saying before but its completely true. I will remember that the next time someone says something about me. smile.

  6. Doraz says:

    I love that last sentence. 🙂 I do believe in the same. 🙂 Hope you have been well and happy. 🙂

    • nobusysignal says:

      @ Doraz, yes, well and happy, I’m wishing the same for you as well. btw, I got a good chuckle out of the 911 material, especially the guy in the phone booth!

  7. Terry Wray says:

    I love this blog cousin. It definitely is the truth. Everyone has opinions but the only opinion that matter is the one of your own….love it.

  8. B.Houston says:

    This is an awesome, riveting blog..most people will get upset with what someome says or even worse thinks about you.So that only enlightenes me to think your more concerned about other people and how they rate you..so stupid,One of my greatest POWERS is to careless of what somebody thinks or says about me no matter their position or title in life…I aways mind my own,and never yours.

  9. Renee' Humphrey says:

    Great blog Morris! I’m still sensitive to what others say and think of me, so I guess I need prayer in this area.

  10. mlcurry5 says:

    Great work! this is something I will not forget this one. So, next time someone says something negative to me I’m going to tell them it’s none of my business anyway…seriously.

Leave a Reply

