Truth Or Fiction


I’ve got a neighbor.  He’s turning out to be a good friend.  He tells me he is 73 yrs. old and you would not know this just by looking at him.  He’s pretty athletic and active.  Last night as we were talking, he asked if he could share something with me.  I said, “Sure, shoot.”  He said he has been looking over his life and does not like what he sees.   He then said  “I have been stripping away all the fiction in my life.  I’m searching for the truth and I keep coming up empty.  All I have left is fiction.”

As he spoke, I detected despondency in his voice and some  residual anger from the loss a 12 million dollar advertising agency that he’d previously owned.  The painful loss of a previous marriage and an inability to regularly see his grown children added to his emptiness.  He said to me,  “Morris when I look at my life now, I got nothing.”

Life is like an onion.  You peel away the layers and sometimes you weep (Doraz).  The older we get ,the more history we have; thus the more mistakes made and revealed — more layers, more opportunity to weep.  As we get older we tend to assess things.  We look at our gains and our loses, what’s really important.  While sorting through the layers of life and striping away fiction, we come to address the truth of our lives and in so doing,  hopefully, we come to realize new chapters are available to write. It’s good to take a look back, but always remember (like driving a car) there is a very good reason why the rear view mirror is so much smaller than front windshield.

At one point as I listened to him speak, I became concerned that he might be considering ending his life.  Later it became abundantly clear to me that he was not.  I was relieved to know that.  Suicide is not the answer.  Sorting through the fiction, looking for the truth of life and being willing to change– that’s the heart of the matter.  The essence of life is the journey, the assessment and being wise enough to make course changes along the way.

Glad you stopped by to spend a few moments with me today, see you at my next post and as always

Have A Great Day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in compassion, Consequences, friendship, life, Perseverance, willingness to change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Truth Or Fiction

  1. Joyce says:

    Wow, if he only knew….when I feel I have nothing…I realize God

  2. davehambo says:

    Very well written post kind sir! I have similar feelings to your neighbour and I’m only 55 years old… At one level both my wife and I are just using up earth resources until we pass on, as both are retired from work and no family either way, up or down the generations.

    Yet, and not just pseudopsychobabbling, we can still offer something by spending money, taking holidays, being nice to folk and so on. BUT, we have to keep short accounts, the grim reaper could be very close?

    • Samuel Hampton says:

      Life has a way of revealing what is truth and what is important is life. I can identify with your neighbor.

  3. Cheryl Wray says:

    I agree, life journey is going to be full of hills, valleys, and road blocks knowing when to change course, and how to get back on course when you fall off is the KEY . The way I see it, life is like a bank account, you only going to get out of it what you put in it. Perhaps a little interest, if you been a good shephard. If you invest your time doing good for others and yourself, goodnes will come back.

  4. Luisa says:

    I love to really listen to others. When I do, I leave with a smile on my face. The sadness is lifted, and I feel new and alive. People look at the past and do with it what they need to. I prefer to move on. Nice story. Stay well and happy. 🙂

  5. Tina Smith says:

    Because He (Jesus) lives, I can face tomorrow! He welcomes us to rely on, trust in and lean on Him. Let’s employ Jesus and the journey may have it’s ups and downs but His Love, Peace, Power, Grace, Mercy and Truth will sustain us through it all. He has prepared a place for everyone who will surrender their lives to Him. Without faith it is impossible to please Him. If the just shall live by faith (of God), then those without faith abide in death while they yet live. Look and live, my brother live, look to Jesus Christ and Live!!!

  6. tomlstuart says:

    Good to see you writing again my friend! Great stuff!

  7. godcrazzzy says:

    Nice and so true. Smile.

  8. mlcurry5 says:

    Nice story…I learned in paramedic school that at that age most people become depressed and want to die. Now I know that just because people mature in age doesn’t mean they have no cares. I believe one day we all will be faced with this challenge…its whether or not we can over come it. I am going to pray for you neighbor.

Leave a Reply

