Who Is My Neighbor?…2010 style


I’m retelling a story I recently received in a group e-mail. I believe it’s worth sharing.

A mouse looked through a crack in the wall to see the farmer and his wife open a package. “What food might this contain?” the mouse wondered.  He was devastated to discover it was a mouse trap.  Retreating to the farmyard, the mouse proclaimed, “This is a warning:  There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse! There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse!”  The chicken clucked and said “Mr. Mouse, I can tell this is of grave concern to you, but it is of no consequence to me.  I can not be bothered by it.”

The mouse turned to the pig and told him.  “There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse! There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse!”  The pig sympathized, but said, “I am so very sorry, Mr. Mouse.  There is nothing I can do about it but pray.  Be assured, you are in my prayers.”

The mouse turned to the cow and said, ” There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse! There is a mouse trap in the farmhouse!”  The cow said, “Wow,  Mr. Mouse, I am so sorry for you. But it’s no skin off my nose.”

So the mouse returned to the house, head down and dejected, to face the farmer’s mouse trap…alone…

That very night a sound was heard throughout the house–the sound of a mouse trap catching it’s prey.  The farmers wife rushed to see what was caught.  In the darkness she did not see it.  It was a venomous snake whose tail was caught in the trap.  The snake bit the farmers wife.  The farmer rushed her to the hospital.

When she returned home she still had  a fever.  Everyone knows you treat a fever with fresh chicken soup.  So the farmer took his hatchet to the farmyard for the soup’s main ingredient.  But his wife’s sickness continued.  Friends and neighbors came to sit with her around the clock.  To feed them, the farmer butchered the pig.  But alas, the farmers wife did not get well…she died.  So many people came for her funeral the farmer had the cow slaughtered to provide enough meat for all of them to eat.  And the mouse… looked upon it all, from the crack in the wall, with great sadness.

So, the next time you hear that some one is facing a problem, and you think it doesn’t concern you, remember …

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in compassion, friendship, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Who Is My Neighbor?…2010 style

  1. goingalpha says:

    aww!
    what a sad story! 😦
    but inspiring..
    i think the mouse should have done something to save her in the end haha:)
    but really, thats so interesting, i didnt see that coming..
    poor mouse.
    who wrote that?
    or was it just in an email?

    • nobusysignal says:

      I’m sure that there is more history to that story than I provided. I can only go back as far as the person who fwdd to me-I’m pretty certain they weren’t the author though. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. It’s a good reminder for us to remember that we are all interconnected in one way or another. And that it’s important that we take the time to help others in need.

  3. Doraz says:

    I love this story and I am happy you posted it. 🙂

  4. davehambo says:

    I missed this, so sorry. I very much feel like we here in England should have a dose of community passion for folk in Cumbria after yesterdays gun massacre. It is still so rare a happening here as to shock one to the bottom of one’s guts!

    • nobusysignal says:

      I’m so sorry for this lose of life, I have not seen this news here in America as yet. I pray God’s blessings and comfort on all who have been touched by this tragedy.

Leave a Reply

