Perception Is Everything


“What you keep before your eyes will affect you. You will produce what you’re continually seeing in your mind.” These are very potent words from Joel Osteen, the author of  Your Best Life Now.  Unresolved anger, rage, irritability, displeasure with self and others is toxic to your physical and mental well-being.  As stated earlier, anger is not a bad thing.

Anger is a natural emotion, along with every other emotion that you and I experience.  It is how you and I handle anger that is at issue. How anger is expressed and when anger is expressed is paramount.  Anger must be expressed, but expressed or vented in a healthy way. Unexpressed anger — anger that is held in, suppressed and built up over time — causes one to view life through angry eyes –putting one’s life and the lives of everyone in contact in a constant state of flux, upheaval and unrest.

Here are some suggestions for dealing constructively with anger in the right way and at the right time. First, acknowledge -within your self -your anger ( Denial is an unhealthy state to be in and further  complicates the matter bringing more negative baggage.).  Next, eyeball the situation closely BEFORE responding outwardly.  Are the facts surrounding the offense correct?  Has an actual violation (physically or mentally) occurred, or is it a perceived violation?  (See my second post on this point.)

We will continue this discussion in my next post.  Feel free to leave me comments in the box below.

See you at my next post and until then, have a great day.

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perception Is Everything

  1. Great words, to edify, encourage and empower. We don’t often connect things together when it comes to everyday life and walking in the Word of His Power. But it is so true that out of our hearts flow the issues of life, and If our hearts are polluted with anger, bitterness, rage, etc. then we are pouring that out on everyone we are in relationship with and worse than that we are causing our words to work against us. The bible says that we are snared with the words of our mouth, and if those words come out of bitter hearts then we can imagine the hurt that we can be causing and maybe how our perception is not as acurate as we thought. This is a great topic and one to be pondered and meditated on. I’m glad you came up with it, or the Holy Spirit revealed it to you, because i’ll be able to keep it in my heart for the rest of the day. God Bless

  2. “You will produce what you’re continually seeing in your mind.” I completely agree with this line. I’m not the kind of person who believe we all should “engage” the spiritual 24/7, there is momento for the closet. But, I believe that been more concious of the presence of God with us will take us further. Even so, as a Paradox, I have to deal with embracing rejection in this season. I’m a Christian, about 3 and half years ago, I’m just learning to deal with rejection. I heard, learning to love would keep me awake of God’s presence and my opportunity of loving people, and yes! as you have wrote, of we do not learn how to sit down and deal with anger, then our develpoment would take longer. Is not that easy at first, but I guess in the way we would find all requirements for growth and joy. Thanks for the post. Very helpful! 🙂

  3. Lois Ziegler says:

    If only I had a dime for every time I came here! Incredible read!

Leave a Reply

