Dealing With The Pain Part– 2


At my last post I said we were gonna look at options we could use to rid ourselves of the negative effects of hurts and offenses. I see now, that will need to be placed on hold for the moment. There is something I overlooked that must be brought out to add clarity to the prior post and a sense of mandate for dealing with this issue going forward. The best way to set this before you is to tell you a story. I shall do so now.

There once was a man who carried a snake with him everywhere he went. The snake was draped across both shoulders and around the neck. This was no ordinary snake, for it was a triple headed snake and very poisonous.

The man who carried this snake was constantly bitten about the head, neck, back, chest, ears and arms. Sometimes he would grab the head of the snake, attempting to avert it’s attack, only to be bitten by one of its other two heads. This snake had long fangs with which it inflicted very deep bites and with each bite the snake injected venom. Over the course of a long period of time, the snake continued to repeatedly bite and inject more and more of it’s poisonous venom. The bites were so painful that the man would cry out and scream. No one wanted to be in his presence because they felt that the cries and screams were directed at them. I mean, even the sales clerk at the check-out hated to see him enter the store.

The snake lay dormant most of the time. It bit only when it was roused from its dormant state. Ironically, the snake was only awakened when the man thought about the snake. His thinking about the snake acted like an early morning alarm clock or some one blowing a car horn late at night. To the snake, his thoughts were like finger nails scratched across a chalk board. The snake would become aroused in such a fit of anger, it would commence to bite him furiously, injecting more and more venom.

One day someone spoke up and asked “Why don’t you just let that snake go?” Someone else exclaimed, “Throw that snake down on the ground!” The man responded, “I can not. I can not let it go. If I let it go, it will get away scott free. It must not get away from me after all the hurt and pain it’s caused me. It must never go free and everyone will see what this snake has done to me and the pain it has inflicted on me.”

I can’t tell you how this story ends because it’s not my story. You are the only one who can end this story.

See you at my next posting. Feel free to give me a shout out. In the mean time, have a great day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dealing With The Pain Part– 2

  1. Sabrina says:

    It’s so amazing how you hold onto your pain (snake), when we don’t have to. It’s almost as though the source of your pain has committed two assaults on you: 1. the actual event, that caused pain, as well as 2. the relentless bondage that it keeps you in. If ever you open up to the blessing of forgiveness, you can reaffirm yourself as worthy to be pain free, and live life in peace and harmony….

  2. Sabrina says:

    thank you so much Sabrina. your input is on point! The focal point here is really about bondage.

  3. mcurry says:

    Let it go, was what was stated in the story. Easier said than done…but it can be easily done. It may feel like it hurts more to let it go because of our nature to inflict vengance upon those who hurt us; However, when we release the beast of unforgiveness we not only get rid of the hideous monster that sleeps sooo close to us at night and wake up to in the morning, we can experiance true health. True health in the heart, mind and soul because we are no longer extending our arms, necks and heads allowing the venom of unforgiveness to be injected into the vital veins of our body and to be spread throughout without resistance.

  4. Shawanna says:

    I was in bondage like that one time. But i prayed about it and i broke away.

  5. Arelia says:

    The one thing people tend to forget if they ever knew it is that God says to cast ALL your cares on him because he cares for you. Your pains and offenses are all burdens that you dont have to bear. No matter what the burden is, we can take our burdens to the Lord and leave them there. Our burdens are battles and He said the battle is not ours but His; give that snake to the Lord and let Him deal with it!

  6. Brian Miller says:

    thanks for popping in today…pain is easy to hold, it justifies our anger…it takes away our personal responsibility….it takes more strength to really seek to forgive…not just the hollow “oh, i forgive and forget” but the forgiveness that seeks to gain understanding and forward movement…

  7. I’m not sure yet what I will choose to do, but I thank you for sharing the metaphor of the snake, which will give me something more to consider. And Brian Miller’s comment is also convicting. I see my anger and hatred as strength, while forgiveness and understanding may be stronger. More to meditate on…

  8. Great story! I know the feeling of being in pain and wanting that person to “pay” for the pain they caused. The only thing I could do was pray and believe that God would work things out for the good. I couldn’t just wish the pain away, nor could I pray it away in a short period of time. I wrestled with that pain for a long time before it’s hold on me was finally released. One of the things that helped was a book called “The Power of Now,” by Eckhart Tolle. The book taught me how to keep my mind in the present, instead of dwelling in the past. It taught me how to get control of my thinking. It taught me how to become aware of my thoughts. And I realized that it was my thoughts, my thinking, that was creating the pain. So any time I’d find my mind wandering down a path that I knew was going to end up with me being angry or upset, I’d just stop myself. I’d ask…”Is that thought bringing you pain or pleasure? Which feeling do you want — pain or pleasure?” If I couldn’t think of anything happy to focus on, I’d think of something that didn’t cause me pain — like planning what I was going to cook for dinner the following night. That worked for me. However, if it seemed like my mind was still intent on thinking those negative, or painful thoughts, I’d tell myself, “Ok, since you insist on thinking about that, you’ve got two minutes to do so. That’s all.” Amazingly it always worked for me. Take care, A.

    • nobusysignal says:

      Dear Lifelessons4u,
      This is by far the most, the best, comment on this post I have rec’d so far. you gave me some thoughts to take away and employ. I will definitely buy the book. Thank you so much, I was looking for more to aid me in my journey-that’s why I write-and you have provided some more of it .

Leave a Reply

