Dealing With the Pain– Part 1


I know someone who has always been one who is easily hurt, Do you know anybody like that, as well? It seems as though they “wear their feelings on their sleeves”.

Any wrongdoing, disregard, disrespect or infringement ( real or perceived as real ) upon their person goes to the level of Hurricane Katrina. And, like Hurricane Katrina, it will be front page news — everyone is gonna know about it. For days and weeks to come, everyone will mercilessly endure a rehashing of the incident and how badly the offender hurt them.

It seems as though they wear these hurts on their sleeves like military chevrons: “This one here I got when i caught your daddy kissing that hussy next door and this one when they let Sister Icannah-Sing-Alto lead that song instead of me.” So it goes, year after year and decade after decade, and the offended person won’t let it go. To her, it’s fresh, like it just happened yesterday.

Have you ever pulled a scab off of a wound too soon? If so, you know the out come: it hurts and it will bleed. Some people are like that. they won’t do what is necessary to heal from an offense. Rather, they rehearse every nuance and detail of the incident with themselves and anybody they can find that will listen. They wake up with it, eat breakfast with it and carpool with it. They just won’t let it go. Figuratively speaking, they keep pulling the scab off.

As someone recently said to me “I do not want to wake up every morning with that offensive person and what they did to me laying there in my bed between me and my husband”. To that I say Bravo! You don’t want them at your table eating breakfast with you, or wreaking all sorts of mayhem and disruption running around in your head during the course of your day.

In my next post we’re gonna explore options and avenues to ridding the undesirable effects of offenses. We’re gonna get them out of your bed and away from your table. Someone once said “if you let them ride in your car next thing they gonna want to drive it…and that might end up being right over a cliff”.

If you like what you’ve read, let me hear from you. Post a comment below. Feel free to subscribe. Either way, let me know what you think.

See you at the next post and have a great day!

About nobusysignal

Educated, interested and very much alive!
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dealing With the Pain– Part 1

  1. mcurry says:

    Let it go, again. I pray that I never get so hurt that I cant eventually let it go. I have been hurt and it is only by the grace of God that I was able to let it go. Know the true question is, how can you let it go if there is no positive oppossing force to combat the blood thirsty warrior called vengance and unforgiveness? Thats why I say… “If it wasn’t for the Lord who was on my side where would I be…” so, some could say the Lord was not on myside look where I’m at? Which would lead me to say, (frankly), whose fault is that…really, look we choose to be vendictive, we choose to be unforgiving and we choose not to accept Him (Jesus) as our true positive oppossing force and that makes the difference.

  2. mcurry says:

    I pray that I never get so hurt that I cant eventually let it go. I have been hurt and it is only by the grace of God that I was able to let it go. Know the true question is, how can you let it go if there is no positive oppossing force to combat the blood thirsty warrior called vengance and unforgiveness? Thats why I say… “If it wasn’t for the Lord who was on my side where would I be…” so, some could say the Lord was not on myside look where I’m at? Which would lead me to say, (frankly), whose fault is that…really, look we choose to be vendictive, we choose to be unforgiving and we choose not to accept Him (Jesus) as our true positive oppossing force and that makes the difference.

Leave a Reply

